Speeding (miles per hour
over posted speed limit)
1-10 mph over
11-20 mph over
21-30 mph over
31-40 mph over
40 or more mph over
Failed to Stop for a School Bus
Following Too Closely (tailgating)
Inadequate Brakes (private vehicle)
Inadequate Brakes (company vehicle)
Failure to yield the Right of Way
Disobeying a Stop Sign or Yield Sign
Railroad Crossing Infraction
Improper Passing, Changing Lanes Unsafely
Driving left of Center or Wrong Way
Leaving scene of property damage Accident (If personal injuries involved may carry criminal implications - contact a lawyer)
Child Safety Restraint Violation
Cell Phone Violation
POINTS ON POINTS
Points will be added to your driving record according to the date the violation occurred, not the date that you are found guilty or plead guilty to a violation.
If your violation points in any 18 month period add up to more then 11 points, DMV may suspend your license for a period of 6 months. If you are convicted (or plead guilty) to 3 or more speeds in any 18 month period your license may be suspended for a period of 6 months.
Taking a DMV approved accident prevention course may reduce your total by up to 4 points and reduce your liability and collision insurance premiums by up to 10% for up to 3 years. It is important to note, however, that the accident prevention course will not reduce your points for purposes of the Driver Responsibility Assessment Penalty.
If you have a license from another State other then New York, the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles shares its information with your State. Most States use a point system and may add the points in certain out of state violations to your home State driving record.
NEW OR TEEN DRIVERS
You are on license probation for the first six months (probation period) after you pass your road test. If you are found guilty of committing a single serious violation during the probation period, including speeding, tailgating, unauthorized racing, reckless driving, your license will be suspended for 60 days. It will also be suspended for 60 days if you are found guilty of any two moving violations during your probation period.